French Apple Tart

If you know anything about the advertising world, you know the folks that make up the industry love to have food at the office and happy hours in abundance. Staying true to that philosophy, my work provided us with a ton of fruit – a healthful snack you won’t often find gracing our office doors – but with so much fruit and so few people we had a copious amount of leftover apples.

I scrolled through dozens of recipes for apple tarts and apple pies before narrowing it down to what I considered to be the top three. The plan was to only pick one of them to bake, but my indecision won out and I created the hybrid pie-tart you’ll see below. Here’s how I did it:

It all starts with the star of the show: apples. Each recipe I looked at called for a different variation of apple, for my tart I used Gala.

Photo By: Stefanie Goodman
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman

After rinsing any dirt off the apples, it was time to slice them up. I made it easy by halving the apples with my knife and cutting out the butt and stem. Then, I used a measuring spoon to scoop out the core (this works best if you have a melon baller). After all of the apples were halved and cored, I used my knife to cut the halves into thin slices. If you have a mandolin, you could also use that in place of a knife here. As you cut the slices, put them in a bath of lemon and water to prevent browning.

Photo By: Stefanie Goodman
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman

Next, I placed prepared pie dough in the pan and pressed it down. I promise the next time I make anything with a crust, it’ll be homemade but I had one circle leftover from the Apricot Coconut Crumble recipe – so it had to be utilized.

Photo By: Stefanie Goodman
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman

Now the fun part – arranging the apple slices. Arrange the slices side by side in a circular pattern starting from the outer edge of the pie pan and working your way towards the middle. Then, set aside.

Photo By: Stefanie Goodman
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman

In a small bowl, mix honey and vanilla, and microwave for about 30 seconds until it’s a thin liquid. With a spoon, drizzle the mixture over the apples. Then once again, set aside.

Photo By: Stefanie Goodman
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman

In another bowl, combine sugar and cinnamon to sprinkle liberally over the arranged apple slices, reserving about one tablespoon to pour over the crust. After you’ve dusted the apple slices with your fairy dust of deliciousness, fold the edges of the pie crust to create an overlap and dust with the remaining sugar and cinnamon.

Photo By: Stefanie Goodman
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman

Finally, place the tart/pie in a preheated oven at 425 degrees for 20 to 30 minutes until the crust is golden brown and the apples are softened. Allow to cool completely before serving.

Photo By: Stefanie Goodman
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman

Ingredients:

Crust:

  • Prepared crust of your choosing.

Filling:

  • 4 to 5 gala apples
  • Juice of half a lemon (for lemon bath)
  • 1/4 cup water (for lemon bath)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

 

6 thoughts on “French Apple Tart

  1. Your posts are all so beautiful, I really like your blog! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I can’t wait to read more ❤

Leave a Reply

