Apricot Coconut Crumble Pie

You heard right – ripe fruit meets shredded coconut and of course, butter in this delectable summertime sweet treat! Apricots are at their peak during the sunny season of summer, but I couldn’t resist making this pie now, in spring, when I came across the recipe. Luckily, Central Market had my apricot needs covered.

IMG_9960
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman

 

The pie was much easier to make than I expected it to be, *bonus points for any of you beginner bakers out there.* To start it off, I cut the apricots  into wedges and placed them in a large bowl. Then, I tossed the cut apricots with light brown sugar, granulated sugar, salt and cornstarch. Next, I made the topping or crumble, which consisted of flour, light brown sugar, room temperature butter, salt and coconut.

While those two things were hanging out in their respective bowls, I prepared the crust, which consisted of opening a package of Pillsbury dough and crimping it to my pan (I know, I know – the difficulty level is unreal). The pie crust was then froze for 15 minutes.

IMG_9962
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman

 

Next, I poured my sugar-coated apricot filling into the pie and squished the coconut topping over it, making sure to alternate between large and small chunks.

IMG_9964
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman

 

Once the apricots were covered to my liking, I placed it in the oven at 375 degrees for 25 minutes. After 25 minutes, I covered the edges of the pie with aluminum foil to ensure there were no burnt spots, then continued baking it for 30 minutes. When the time was up, viola! I had a nice golden pie.

IMG_9969
Photo By: Stefanie Goodman

The pie turned out to be absolutely fantastic, if I do say so myself, and was loved by my coworkers! If you enjoy peach cobbler, you’ll love this twist on an old classic. I hope my post encourages you to try something new while you’re baking this spring.

This recipe is from Martha Stewart: 

Ingredients:

Toppings (I used about 2/3 of this)

  • 3/4 cup plus 3 tablespoons of all-purpose flour
  • Coarse slat
  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sweetened shredded coconut (3 ounces)
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature, cut into pieces
  • 1/4 cup plus 3 tablespoons light brown sugar, packed

Crust

  • Prepared crust of your choosing

Filling

  • 1 3/4 pounds apricots, cut into wedges (I used 2lbs)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • Coarse salt 

 

2 thoughts on “Apricot Coconut Crumble Pie

Leave a Reply

